Sports Writers Association Of Ghana (SWAG) Names Nominees For 2018 Awards Night

SWAG President — Kwabena Yeboah

The nominees for the 43rd edition of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) awards has been released by the body.

Black Stars players Richmond Boakye Yiadom, Christian Atsu and Thomas Teye Partey are in contention for the Footballer of the Year Award, the ultimate prize, alongside TP Mazember midfielder Daniel Nii Adjei.

In a battle for the locally based Footballer of the Year Award, Hearts of Oak’s Thomas Abbey, Asante Kotoko’s Amos Frimpong and Berekum Chelsea forward Samuel Sarfo are in contention for the award.

A statement from SWAG revealed the nominees and promised a presser to be held next week to brief the media/public about the upcoming awards night, which would coincide with the Golden Jubilee celebrations of the body.

Dimunitive midfielder Solomon Asante is the current holder of the award.

Full nominees list below…

Footballer of the Year:

Daniel Nii Adjei – (TP Mazembe, DRC

Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

Christian Atsu – (Newcastle, England)

Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia)

2. Footballer of the Year (LOCAL)

Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak)

Amos Frimpong (Kotoko)

Stephen Sarfo (B. Chelsea)

3. Female Footballer of the Year

Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Priscilla Okyere (Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

Ruth Appiah (LadyStrikers)

4. Professional Boxer of the Year

Isaac Dogboe

Duke Micah (WBC Int. Bantamweight Champion)

5. National Team of the Year

Local Black Stars

Black Sticks (female Hockey Team)

Golden Arms (Armwrestling)

6. Coach of the Year

Carl Lokko (Coach of Richard Commey

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana)

Carl Pierce (Weightlifting)

7. Association President of the Year

Mawuko Afadzinu (Table Tennis)

Herbert Mensah (Rugby)

Paul Achoe (Volleyball)

Charles Osei Asibey (Armwrestling)

Evans Yeboah (Badminton Fed)

Frederick Otu Lartey (Taekwondo)

8. Most Promising Star of the Year

Richmond Osafo (Weightlifting)

David Abagna (Wa All Stars)

9.Female Club of the Year

Ampem Darkoah Ladies

10. Male Club of the Year

Aduana Stars (GPL)

GRA Male Hockey team

11. Dedication and Valour

George Bankole (Handball)

Ofori Asare (Boxing)

12. Weightlifter of the Year

Christian Amoah

13. Discovery of the Year

David Akwei (Weightlifting)

Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestling)

Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers and Black Maidens)

14. Hockey Player of The Year

Salia Nsalbini

15. Golfer of the Year

Vincent Torgah

16. Badminton Player of the Year

Emmanuel Yaw Donkor

Grace Atipaka

17. Volleyball Player of The Year

Richard Amanor

18. Special Awards

Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor (Sanford)

Alex Asante (GFA)

Dr. K D Asante

Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum

Dr. Martin Engmann

19. Para-Athlete of the Year

Charles Narh Teye

Haruna Tahiru (Armwreslting)

Cyclist of the Year- Anthony Boafo Dankwa Boakye
Kickboxer of the Year – Alhassan Okine

READ ALSO: Start A Blog for Less than 15 GHS A Month & Make As Much As Over 5000 GHS A Month Easily

We PAY for exclusives/breaking news...Got Any? Call/Whatsapp +447837576037 or E-mail:

The writer, a holder of a Bachelor's Degree in Mass Communications, is the Managing Editor of GhanaCelebrities.Com. He hails from and stays in Accra. He contends that the problem with Ghana is that people are getting more addicted to groupthink and less addicted to reading with each passing day. His motto is that you can do everything you set your mind to. Contact:

Don't Miss the Scoop...Enter your email address:

Delivered by GhanaCelebrities.Com Via FeedBurner

Don't Miss the Scoop...Enter your email address:

Delivered by GhanaCelebrities.Com Via FeedBurner

50 Bedroom Hostel For SALE--in Ghana