Meet All the Members of the Council of State Who Advised President Mahama to FREE the Montie 3

Members of the Council of State
Members of the Council of State

The Council of State, a small body of prominent Ghanaians who are of proven character, is established by Article 89 of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana to counsel the president in the performance of his functions

According to Article 89 (2) of the 1992 constitution, the council of State shall consist of

(a) The following persons appointed by the President in consultation with Parliament

(i) One person who has previously held the office of Chief Justice;

(ii) One person who has previously held the office of Chief of Defence Staff of the Armed Forces of Ghana;

(iii) One person who has previously held the office of Inspector-General of Police;

(b) The President of the National House of Chiefs;

(c) One representative from each region of Ghana elected, in accordance with regulations made by the Electoral Commission under article 51 of this Constitution, by an electoral college comprising two representatives from each of the districts in the region nominated by the District Assemblies in the region; and

(d) Eleven other members appointed by the President.

A member of the council of state shall hold office until the end of term of the president unless that member resigns, becomes permanently incapacitated or is removed from office or dies.

The chairman and members of the council of state are entitled to some allowances and privileges (article 89 (7, 8))

The Council of State is required to, “consider and advise the President or any other authority in respect of any appointment which is required by the Constitution or any other law to be made in accordance with the advice of, or in consultation with, the Council of State.” (Article 91 (1))

Article 91 (3) further states that, “The Council of State may, upon request or on its own initiative, consider and make recommendations on any matter being considered or dealt with by the President, a Minister of State, Parliament or any other authority established by this Constitution except that the President, Minister of State, Parliament or other authority shall not be required to act in accordance with any recommendation made by the Council of State under this clause.”

The current members of the council of State are:

  • Mrs. Cecilia Johnson, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. Henry Martey Newman, Presidential Appointee
  • Okogyeman Kwaku Gyamprah, Presidential Appointee
  • Tutulewura Rashid Sulemana Mahama, Presidential Appointee
  • Awoamefia of Anlo, Togbe Sri III, Presidential Appointee
  • Nana Baffuor Osei Asibey II, Debuosehene, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. David Adeenze Kanga, Presidential Appointee
  • Mrs. Ama Benyiwa-Doe, Presidential Appointee
  • Sir. Dr. Edward Nminyour Gyader, Presidential Appointee
  • Opanyin Pastor Abraham Kwaku Adusei, Presidential Appointee
  • Dr. Rabiatu Deinyo Ammah, Presidential Appointee
  • Mr. George Kofi Dadzie, Representing the Western Region
  • Dr. Percival Afred Kuranchie, Representing the Central Region
  • Mr. Emmanuel Adzei Anang, Representing the Greater Accra Region
  • Torgbui Binah Lawluvi VI, Representing the Volta Region
  • Nana Kodua Kesse II, Representing the Eastern Region
  • Vo-Naa Alhaji Baba Muhammed Bawah, Representing the Northern Region
  • Rt. Rev. Dr. Jacob Kofi Ayeebo, Representing the Upper East Region
  • Nana Saa Gyamfuaa II, Representing the Brong Ahafo Region
  • Nana Asiama Poku Afrifa II, Representing the Ashanti Region
  • Alhaji Seidu Bhat Braimah, Representing the Upper West Region
  • Wulugunana Naa Professor John S. Nabila, President of the National House Chiefs
  • Christopher Kobla Dewornu, Former Inspector General of Police
  • Lt. General Seth Kofi Obeng (Rtd.), Former Chief of Defence Staff


CLICK HERE to subscribe to our daily up-to-date news!!




No related posts found...

Leave a Reply