Okudzeto Ablakwa Names 3 NDC Mp’s Who Also Allegedly Took Boakye Agyarko’s Bribe

1 min

Member of Parliament for North Tongu and former Deputy Minister of Education, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, has backed up the claims of bribery raised by Mahama Ayariga against Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko.

Mahama Ayariga claimed last week that the then minister designate Agyarko had paid a bribe of Ghc 3,000 each to minority MP’s to speed through his vetting process.

He said Appointments Committee chair Joe Osei Owusu gave the money to minority chief whip Muntaka Mubarak, who shared to the MP’s – but both Owusu and Muntaka have denied the claims.

Speaking on Joy Fm Monday, Ablakwa said he knows the bribery took place and named three NDC Mp’s who he said also the received the money but returned it later when they learned of its true purpose.

He named Bodi MP Sampson Ahi, Asunafo South MP Eric Opoku and Odododiodoo MP Nii  Lante Vanderpuye as three who also received the money from Muntaka, which they later returned when they learned it was a bribe from Boakye Agyarko.

He said a meeting was even held in Muntaka’s office to decide to return the money, so he cannot fathom why Muntaka denies sharing the money.

Muntaka has sworn by the Holy Quran that he never gave any money to anybody.


Nii Smiley Byte
Nii Smiley Byte, often called Moonbyte but sometimes called Godwin, is the Managing Editor of GhanaCelebrities.Com. He also moonlights as a fixer for foreign journalists travelling to Ghana for work. Nii has three strong passions in life -- football, blogging and music -- in that order. When you don't find him behind his laptop doing this, you'll find him watching football or chatting with friends - sometimes all three at the same time. His motto is that 'you can do everything you set your mind to', stolen without regret from the greatest rapper the world has ever seen, Eminem. Nii is a secular humanist who sees religion as Africa's biggest obstacle to progress. To reach him for writing or fixing gigs, contact [email protected]