Kwesi Appiah Names 29 Man Afcon Squad with ‘Drama Queen’ Asamoah Gyan Back in the Team

After his little temper tantrum got him the attention and pampering he wanted, Asamoah Gyan has rescinded his decision to retire and has now made himself available for selection back into the Black Stars.

Gyan initially claimed he cannot be in the team if he’s not the captain but somehow after one conversation with the President, he’s now ok with that.

So coach Kwesi Appiah has now called him back into the team with the release of the 29 man squad for the 2019 African Cup of Nations.

READ ALSO: Patapaa’s Hilarious List of the Top Five Musicians In Ghana — MUST WATCH Video

The Black Stars would fight to win their 5th Afcon at the tournament which kicks off in Egypt on June 21st.

Gyan is back in the team but Andre Ayew is expected to be the captain for the Afcon.

The team will depart Accra, on Saturday, June 1, for pre-tournament preparations in Dubai, ahead of the competition. Of the 29 players, the final 23 will be named to represent Ghana at the tournament.

Full list below…


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa, Lawrence Ati- Zigi  (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan  (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


John Boye (Metz, France), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey),  Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Nuhu Musa (St Gallen, Switzerland), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey), and Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Ebenezer Ofori (New York FC, USA), Afriyie Acquah  (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey),  Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland), Yaw Yeboah (Numancia, Spain),  Abdul Fatawu (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England),  Abdul Majeed Waris ( Nantes, France), Caleb Ekuban  (Trabzonspor, Turkey) and Kwabena  Owusu (Leganes, Spain).

Source: GhanaCelebrities.Com


CLICK HERE to subscribe to our daily up-to-date news!!