Hurray!! Sarkodie Tops Ghana Music Awards Nominations

The nominees for the 11th Annual Ghana Music Awards were announced last night at an event that brought together industry players, keen to know who gets nominated for what in the foremost award for music in the country. The well attended event that saw performances from the likes of Kwabena Kwabena, Gyedu Blay Ambolley, Celestine Donkor, Ohemaa Mercy and Wutah ended with the big reveal of nominees.

Sarkodie, touted as the fastest rapper in Ghana led the pack with 8 nominations plus one for his collaboration with Ayigbe Edem and Kwaw Kesse on ‘You dey Craze’. Edem also had 6 other nominations with Wutah following with 5 plus a nod for best male vocal performance for PV, one half of the duo. 4×4 and Bradez both had 5 tallies.

Here is there complete list of nominees and GhanaCelebrities.Com says Bravo to Sarkodie.This to some degree proves that, Akon has not made a bad investment.

Artist of the year



Ohemaa Mercy




Most popular song of the year

Kotosa by Wutah

Baby by Sarkodie

Simple byBradez

Aseda by Ernest Opoku

World Trade Center by 4×4

Discovery of the year

DSP Kofi Sarpong



Ayigbe Edem

OJ Blaq

Hip hop /hiplife song of the year

Kasiebo by Obrafour

The Game by Obour

Ringtone by Tinny

You Dey Craze by Ayigbe Edem

Breathe by Kweku T & D Black

Baby by Sarkodie

Hip hop/hiplife artist of the year




Ayigbe Edem


Gospel Song of the year

Ensie wo yie Diana Hamilton

Okyeso Nyame Florence Nyame

Aseda Ernest Opoku

Wo Beye Kesse Ohemaa Mercy

Ayeyi Ndwom DSP Kofi Sarpong

Supernatural Celestine Donkor

Gospel Artist of the year

Ohema Mercy

Celestine Donkor

Florence Obinim

Highlife song of the year

Afia Donkor by Kofi B

Daa Ke Daa by Becca

Sika by Daddy Lumba

Kotosa by Wutah

Born to win by King David

Highlife artist of the year

Kofi B

Daddy Lumba

Kofi Nti

King David

Afro-pop Song of the year

Run away by Irene Logan

World Trade Center by 4×4

Swagger by Ruff &Smooth

Simple by Bradez

I think I like Am by VIP

Reggae Song of the year

Jah will be there by Wutah

Adiepena by Kojo Antwi

Mama Africa by Black Prophet

Best Collaboration of the year

Run Away by Irene & Asem

Baby by Sarkodie & Mugeez

The Game by Obour & Okyeame Kwame

You dey Craze by Edem/Sarkodie/Kwaw Kesse

Kasiebo by Obrafour & Guru

Best Rapper of the year



Kwaku T




African artiste of the year

Bracket- Nigeria

Wande Coal- Nigeria

Flavour- Nigeria

Midnight Crew – Nigeria

Jozi- South Africa

Record of the year

Burning Desire- Wutah

Daa Ke Daa- Becca

Run Away – Irene Logan and Asem

Love Zone- Jon Germain

Nyonorvidade – Ayigbe Edem

Album of the Year

Sika – Daddy Lumba

Makye- Sarkodie

Burning desire- Wutah

World Trade Center- 4×4

Volta Regime- Ayigbe Edem

Song writer of the year

Daa ke Daa- Kwabena Akwaboa Jnr

Burning Desire- Wutah

Run Away- Asem

Adiepena- Kojo Antwi

Kasiebo- Obrafour

Best Male Vocal performance

PV of Wutah

Kwasie Pee

Kofi B

Ernest Opoku Jnr

Kojo Antwi

Best Female Vocal Performance


Irene Logan

Cynthia of Daughter of Glorious Jesus

Celestine Donkor

Ohemaa Mercy

Winners would be announced at the Ghana Music Awards ceremony slated for the Accra Conference Centre (Dome) on Saturday April 10. Other industry awards on the night would include: best music video, traditional artist of the year, instrumentalist of the year, MUSIGA merit award, producer of the year and the World Bank best music for development.

The Ghana Music Awards would be marked by a number of activities leading to the main event. This includes awards dialogue and workshop, nominees jam at Takoradi Polytechnic Park on March 6.

By:Ameyaw Debrah/ GhanaCelebrities.Com/ Ghana

GC Staff Ob